Nursery Stage: International Early Years Curriculum (IEYC)

LUCA divides its curriculum into 7 areas of learning and development (Personal, Social and Emotional Development; Communication and Language; Physical Development; Literacy; Mathematics; Understanding the World; and Expressive Arts and Design). We believe that each of these areas of learning is important and interrelated, and our teachers use this guidance to support the development of ‘the whole child’.  Research tells us that young children are active learners, therefore at LUCA we offer a play-based, ‘hands on’ approach to learning, utilising both the indoor and outdoor classrooms. We aim to develop a love of learning in our students and our program encourages critical thinking, collaboration, communication and creativity.


Our program is based on the IEYC curriculum. We adopt Singapore Maths as our mathematics syllabus, while phonics is taught using the Letters and Sounds programme. In addition, we offer daily Chinese lessons for all children and an after school CCA (Co-Curricular Activities) programme for our early years children.



Nursery 1 (Age 3)



Nursery 2 (Age 4)


Bible Study



Singapore Maths

Physical Education

*Maximum 25 students per class

Kindergarten and Primary Stage: International Primary Curriculum (IPC)


IPC is an innovative cross-curricular resource that ensures learning experiences are relevant, engaging and enjoyable. It is a comprehensive theme-based and creative curriculum to guide the process of learning. IPC has a clear process of learning and specific learning goals for science, history, society, geography, art and technology (subject areas), as well as for personal skill development and international mindedness. IPC is currently one of the fastest-growing curricula in the world today.


At LUCA, IPC units (usually 5-6) are carefully chosen for each year level, to provide a comprehensive curriculum for integrated teaching and learning in a particular year as well as to ensure progression and development of skills, knowledge and understanding across the primary years. The classroom and specialist teachers (of subjects such as Chinese, Music, P.E.) collaborate to integrate learning across subjects whenever possible.



Kindergarten 1 (Age 5)


Kindergarten 2 (Age 6)


Lower Primary


Primary 1 (Age 7)

Primary 2 (Age 8)

Primary 3 (Age 9)


Higher Primary


Primary 4 (Age 10)

Primary 5 (Age 11)

Primary 6 (Age 12)




Bible Study



Singapore Maths





*Maximum 25 students per class

*Primary 6 students will sit for the Cambridge Primary Checkpoint


Secondary Stage: International Middle Years Curriculum and International

General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE)

International Middle Years Curriculum is for students in Pre-Secondary up to Secondary 2, while the International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) is for students from Secondary 3 to 5, which is the world’s most popular international curriculum for 14-16 year olds. Developed by the University of Cambridge International Examinations, learners from over 100 countries sit for their IGCSE each year, making it one of the most internationally recognised qualifications for secondary school students.


All courses are three years in length with assessments taking place at the end of Secondary 5. The format of assessments varies and can include written, oral, coursework and practical assessment. Each learner’s performance is benchmarked using eight internationally recognised grades (A*, A, B, C, D, E, F, G).  The IGCSE is an excellent foundation for success at higher level courses such as the IB Diploma and A-levels Examinations. Leading universities and employers worldwide accept the IGCSE as evidence of academic ability and achievement. Students will find that the IGCSE course equips them with the core skills and knowledge they need to be successful learners at IB Diploma level, A-levels as well as other well-recognised Pre-University Programmes.


LUCA Academy’s students will study compulsory IGCSE subjects in English, Chinese and Mathematics and have the choice of selecting electives from a wide range of subjects including Science, History, Music, Art, Accounting and Business Studies. The number of elective subjects that the students take will depend on whether they opt to study Combined Science or Triple Science. With Combined Science, students will study Biology, Chemistry and Physics, each covered in separate syllabus sections in a single award qualification, earning one grade, and with Triple Science they will take three separate subjects in Biology, Chemistry and Physics.


A typical student’s timetable will consist of eight lessons per day i.e. 40 lessons per week. Besides learning processes in the classroom, students will have opportunities through our CCA programme to apply, reinforce or revisit their learning. Ultimately, our goal is to ensure that our students achieve IGCSE qualifications that they can be proud of. At LUCA Academy, quality teaching and learning is given within the classroom along with additional support sessions which provide assistance where and when needed, as well as pastoral care to nurture and guide them as new challenges arise. With this approach, we are confident that our students will achieve their true potential.

Pre-Secondary (Age 12 - 13)

Lower Secondary

Upper Secondary

Sec 3 (Age 15)

Sec 4 (Age 16)

Sec 5 (Age 17)

Sec 1 (Age 13)

Sec 2 (Age 14)



© Copyright - LUCA Academy Sdn. Bhd. 2017